. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Outrageousness?

People, I am outraged again, and I'll tell you why.

I was looking at the full-page 9:30 club ad in this week's City Paper. There's one every week, and from time to time I like to know what bands are coming through the D.C. area. I'm not outraged that both Echo and the Bunnymen and The Cult are still touring (although, get a life already!)and they're not even touring together.

Nor am I outraged that I'm not going to make it to Towson to catch Slayer. I am not even outraged that Depeche Mode is playing at a Big Honking Venue with a Lawn. (I do find that a little freaky, though. I seriously thought Depeche Mode was gone the way of the passenger pigeon.) No, I'm outraged at this phrase: Advance Parking Available through Ticketmaster.

You have to understand that the 9:30 is located in not the finest area D.C. has to offer. However, most of that is appearance. There's really nothing wrong with the 9:30's 'hood... if you're from here, or really if you're from any city that has a downtown, panhandlers and garbage. It can be scary looking to out-of-towners and people who live in the 'burbs. Besides, the 9:30 is Metro Accessible.

You don't really want to drive around there, because traffic is grisly. There's a major hospital located a block away and a whole mess of nightlife two blocks in the other direction. This is a busy area. In other words, you're in no danger here, son.

But, apparently you can now reserve a spot in the "official" club parking lot, via Ticketmaster. I'm sure they charge extra for this "service" (You don't want me to get started on Ticketmaster. As a long-ago former employee, I'm entitled to crack some heads.)

I don't have a problem with paid parking. Hell, it wouldn't shock me if Safeway changed over to paid lots. I've paid to park in a shopping mall where I went to spend money, and that doesn't make me happy, but at least I didn't have to call ahead for my spot.

There's a lot wrong with Washington, and parking is one of those things. However, the obvious solution is to get people not to bring their cars into town. We're crawling with cabs 'round these parts, and we have clean, safe public transit.... that gets you very close to the club in question. The last thing the U Street corridor needs is a bunch of white kids in borrowed Dodge Caravans driving around waving their concert tickets looking for the parking lot.

*eyeroll*

In news of other outrage, the store about which I complained so vehemently about a month ago is currently having its going out of business sale.

The people have spoken. We are vindicated.

2001-05-29, Early morning comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.