. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Shopper Rage

Dear Retail Industry:

I, Koogle, a consumer, would like to take this opportunity to remind you that your business is service. I can do that now that I have calmed down a little bit.

Generally I try to be patient in stores, because I know it is difficult to hire good people in this kind of job market, but today was just too much. I stood in line while the lone cashier tried in vain to help a customer who had a problem with an item. The poor girl looked like she was about to cry. She called three times for somebody to open another register, and nobody came.

Finally somebody did come, but when she tried to open a second register, something went wrong. That was about the time when I dropped my purchases on the floor and decided to leave. (I was going to buy a down pillow and some indestructible beach toys; if there had been any place to put the items, I would have done that. As I was leaving, I thought that this was one of the worst examples of lax management I had seen in some time, so I asked where I could find the manager.

The original cashier called her, and I went to town. I explained what had happened while manager-chyk stood before me, dumbfounded. I did not blame the cashiers, because the situation wasn't their fault. Management was clearly at fault for not paying attention to what was happening at the front of the store.

As I left the store saying I'd be calling corporate headquarters, I paused to see if she was going to apologize, yet she said nothing.

Dear retail industry, I am a consumer. I like things and often I want to buy them. Today I left a store without an item I really, really wanted that was on sale. Do you fully understand the significance of this action?

In closing, I'd just like to remind you that the business of service must extend all the way from cashiers and stock personnel up to the CEO's office.

The loss of one customer should affect each and every one of you. Although there's no way in hell that I'd ever spend another dime with your organization, you ought to be asking yourself what you can do to prevent any further losses.

*heart*

Koog

2001-04-12, Afternoon comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.