. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Making an entry out of nothing at all

So, the recycling truck didn't make it to my block yesterday. This gave me leave to look at what my neighbors left out to recycle. Most of the folks put out a lot of plastic and glass, which is fine but not very interesting in terms of investigation.

The one really fascinating thing I noticed sitting out on the curb was in a bag in front of the house next door; it was a can marked "zucchini."

I mean, who the hell buys zucchini in a can? Freaks who also keep a squirrel as a pet, that's who. I've mentioned the squirrel before. Actually I haven't seen it around lately--like I'd really be able to distinguish the pet squirrel from all the other neighborhood squirrels--and I know the neighbors have a dog now because there's barking in the morning and it freaks out my cats.

We'll be laying there thinking about getting out of bed--well, I will be thinking about that; I don't know what the girls are thinking, but if I were to guess, I'd say they'd be thinking about how much they dislike each other, and how much each wishes the other would go away--and then the barking starts in the neighbors yard.

The girls tense up; they don't know where the barking comes from. I'm not positive Hecate has ever seen a dog, though I know Lola has. Lola can handle herself with dogs: she once stared down an enormous Boxer in the vet's waiting room. "Sonny" was about 50 pounds overweight and he was very interested in Lola. She didn't even flinch.

So I'm not sure why she gets tense when Neighbor Dog starts barking about 6:30 every morning, but I can feel her little body go all stiff.

Anyway, I'll be in North Carolina this weekend for a wedding. Updates unlikely.

2000-10-13, morning comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.