. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

I'll be seeing you in all the old familiar places

AHA!

Remember when I couldn't remember the third song that New Potato Caboose played? When I had a Classic Rock Moment for the first time in my life? OK, no. Whatever. It was "You Can't Always Get What You Want." Ellen and Donna triggered me finally remembering that. (Actually it was Ellen; Donna mentioned it and I didn't make the connection, but Donna wasn't there, so that makes sense. Anyway.)

Speaking of confluence, I was in a restaurant having breakfast yesterday when that very song came on the Classic Rock Station. I was sort of enjoying the song, thinking of the beginning of The Big Chill, drinking my grapefruit juice when somebody switched to a classical station.

Apparently "You Can't Always Get What You Want" is not an appropriate song for a restaurant.

I chuckled.

In other "if you try sometimes..." news, it looks like I'll be seeing somebody I haven't seen in a while over the weekend. I'm trying to tell myself not to act like a goof, to stay cool, but above all, to make sure I look good.

Which is totally absurd, as the only time I can remember him commenting specifically on how I looked I was wearing chinos and a ratty old flannel shirt. I was laying on the floor with my legs sticking out from under a Christmas tree.

Still, I got a perverse charge from getting his e-mail that said he'd come to dinner. I'm glad I have a couple of days to calm the hell down and develop a mask of nonchalance. Maybe I won't wear it, but if I need to pull it out, it'll be there.

2000-09-13, afternoon comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.