. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

As-seen-on-tv.com

You know when you decide you're going to succumb to an infomercial, but you're just not going to call their phone number and utter the mortifying phrase "I want that thing I saw on Teevee!" So you go to their web site, thinking you can order in complete, silent anonimity; nobody would ever have to know that you bought something from Teevee, not even a harmless telephone operator...

Right, so you go to their cheesy web site thinking "it's just like ordering from Lands End, or Amazon. Nobody will ever have to know..." except that they're having server problems, and no matter how many times you click one of the ORDER NOW!!! buttons, no matter which one you click, you get the same error message.

You see, there's grunge in my tub that no amount of scrubbing seems to take away. There's rust on one of the handles on my oven, and there's a product on Teevee that says it can fix both of those problems. Now, I know it's probably a lie, a camera trick, a scam designed to part me from some money; yet I want to believe it. I want to believe it enough that I'm willing to send $44.95 plus shipping and handling.

But not enough that I'm willing to call.

The moral of the story is that if I can't buy it on the web, I don't want it. Not that much.

2000-08-14, 21:38:18 comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.