. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

I am not a housewife. This is a good thing.

This writing late thing is getting to be a habit, and not a good one. Oh well, eventually I'll readjust to the time at which point the whole thing will change again.

So, guess what I did today after I got home from my walk? You never will, so I'll tell you: I started spring cleaning. Now, this wouldn't be strange for most people. I think it should be obvious by now that I am not most people. I've just never found the reward in anything more than the most cursory cleaning. However, today I was outside. The air was fresh and cool, the trees just barely had flowers and leaves, and the sky was so blue that it made everything look brighter.

A spic-and-span house seems like its own reward, but I have even more motivation. If I can treat cleaning my house like a job, meaning that I'd do it for an allotted number of hours each day, that might help prepare me to go back to work. Eventually I'll have to go back to work, but at this point it's all I can do to stay awake for eight hours at a time.

My plan is to shoot for the middle of May to go back, although I'll probably hold out for June just because going back to work isn't high on my to-do list. I believe there's enough work around the house cleaning and organizing to keep me busy until then. I also submitted an application to volunteer at the Washington Animal Rescue League because I'd have made a lousy housewife for a reason, and after about a week I'll want to do something else with parts of my days.

More time spent with cats and dogs equals more good time, and I think that makes sense right now.

2001-04-05, Early morning comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.