. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

If words had meaning, then this would make sense

(The sky is still slightly visible, so I'll call it afternoon even though the clock says 6:00 and that means evening.)

I took a walk in the rain today, though I didn't mean to. It wasn't raining when I walked out to the corner market to get some Gatorade. The skies were gray with the tree limbs black against it, but it was not raining.

The wind picked up as I walked. It was nice, and the day seemed that it ought to have wind, so I was glad for the blowing and I did not curse it; neither did I zip my jacket nor pull the hood over my head. I liked the way the wind moved my hair around and chilled the back of my neck.

In the time I spent choosing Citrus Cooler and Alpine Frost sport drinks, plus a small bag of Chee-toes, a storm moved into the neighborhood. I left the store and smelled the rain on the concrete, brick and asphalt--beautiful. I remembered noticing that scent for the first time as a young child. I filled up my lungs with the memory; I took the long way home.

As I turned the corner, the drops came faster and colder; I breathed deep and it hurt my nose. My feet were damp through heavy cotton socks. The raindrops were like icy little knives against my face and neck. They cut through my clothes as I walked. My hands trembled and ached; my cheeks and eyebrows tingled, and my glasses blurred with water.

I turned another corner and noticed a vague reflection in the wet street, a picture of me. The smile on my face wasn't evident, but I could feel the muscles stretching out in the cold rain, as if to remind me that I am still alive.

I think I was starting to forget.

2001-02-02, late afternoon comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.