. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

A variety from the garden

I have new skin care products. They're fairly simple because they came *shock* from the grocery store, but they seem to work pretty well. It's the Nivea Q10 moisturizer and eye cream, which I bought on sale at Harris Teeter for $7.99 each. My only complaint so far is that the moisturizer has a lot of fragrance, and that drives me nuts. If it works, I can live with it.

I'm not even sure why I bought this stuff except that I'd heard good things about skin care products containing Q10, I'd seen the ads claiming that this particular line is the world's favorite skin care, and it was on sale. If it sucked, I figured I could use it on my elbows and knees or something. Anyway, I like it.

~~~~~

Now I want to talk about bras. Guys, you can probably just scroll down to where I talk about basketball. The other day, I was in line at the post office, and in front of me stood a short, plump woman. She wore an off-white knit top and a white bra. For ten minutes, I wished she'd worn something made of a more substantial fabric. Part of the problem is that women do not have white-white skin; this makes the white bra a not-very-good idea for wear under a shirt through which your bra can be seen. The other part of the problem is that this particular bra was a size too small. She wore it on the set of eyes that made the bra as large as it could be, and still she ooched significantly.

Ooching a little is perfectly understandable, everybody ooches a little bit because bras are not an exact science. Ooching a lot--ooching to the point of bulging--is just weird. Why not get a bra that fits you. I gurarantee that no matter what size you are, somebody makes a bra to fit you. It's going to be more comfortable, it won't dig into your flesh, your clothes will look better on you and you'll feel better.

If you insist on wearing a bra that's too tight, please wear a top that camoflauges this clothing faux pas. That means something that doesn't cling, so you might want to invest in a can of Static Guard as well.

But seriously, if you haven't had your bra size evaluated since you moved out of training bras, you might want to give that a thought. A lot of bra makers have folks who are trained to fit bras, and they visit department stores all the time. You can make an appointment. I've said this before, and I'm sure I'll say it again: if you won't do it for yourself, do it for me.

~~~~~

My brackets look OK so far. I picked St. Joe's over Georgia Tech and Georgia State over Wisconsin but I misssed Ohio State losing to Utah State. The one that almost got me was George Mason and Maryland. Now that was a hell of a game. I have Maryland into the Final Four for whatever reason (mostly because it's a team from the east playing teams from the west. I have no faith in teams from the west, particularly not Stanford) and I would have been righteously screwed had Maryland not pulled the game out in the last five seconds, but I was terribly proud of GMU for sticking with a team from a power conference, a team that came in on a roll, for 39+ minutes.

We'll see how things look when today is over, but I don't expect to do very well in my pool. I tend to pick first-round games with my gut not my head, and when I do try to reason them out, they come back to haunt me.

2001-03-15, evening comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.