. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

And then I spent half an hour getting home

How boring I must be. The same four or five dull phrases come up in my stats, but now I have a question: does anybody use a search engine other than Google, or is Google the only one that indexes diaryland?

OK, I don't care, but I'm curious.

I went shopping this afternoon. Ostensibly I went out for a new Brita pitcher. Have you ever noticed how you have to buy a new pitcher like every year? I swear that I do not play football with mine--no, nor any other contact sport. I do not recall ever having dropped the current pitcher on its little plastic head, and yet the bottom part of the pitcher--the part that holds the water--is fraught with teeny tiny cracks. Not long ago I noticed a small pool of water around the counterspace where the pitcher sat. I figured the thing was done for, so today I got myself to Target.

I swear I went there to get a pitcher, just a pitcher. I have been so good about not shopping, because I'm still trying to get things out of the house. (I promise that I am not buying things and then not reviewing them here. Y'all must have been wondering why I started spending so much time talking about cats, right?)

So anyway, I ended up buying things that were not on my very short list. The best purchase of the day is probably the nylon-lycra stretch tees. They're terrifically cute. I had the sense to try one on before I picked a size, which is good. The first size I tried on fit fairly well, but I felt a little conspicuous, prominent. Actually I felt like I had enormous breasts, and that was a strange feeling.

I slipped the shirt on, looked at myself in the mirror under the unfortunate Target dressing room lights and thought. "Well. I had kind of forgotten how big they look sometimes." I know I resolved not to wear baggy clothing any more, because I don't have to, but there's no good reason to encourage total strangers on the street who might want to call me baby, mama, honey or something like that.

Anyway, I sized up and the result was much less obvious. I assume the male population of the metro area... will never know that for a half a minute I considered getting the one that fit .

The one other product worth mentioning is some shower gel: Spirit of the Vine, grapefruit with ginger. It was quite a bargain at $4.99 US. The line had several other scents, most of them rather unfortunate. (The "cranberry-orange" flavor reminded me of sweet and sour sauce, which is not something I want spread all over my body, especially not in the shower.)

By the time I left Target, I was starving, so I stopped at the Triplex on the way out of the parking lot. I tell you, the Triplex combines Dunkin Donuts, Baskin Robbins, and a sandwich shop. If there were a Taco Bell attached, this would be stoned-person's munchie mecca. As it was, I ate a non-descript tuna sandwich and a Diet Pepsi. The tuna filling made me think of those Underwood's potted meats, which was not a blast from the past that I particularly needed.

Upon reflection, all it means is that the tuna had more mayonnaise than necessary, or more likely, "salad dressing." Can you imagine anybody dressing an actual salad with white paste dressed up to look like mayonnaise?

I didn't think so.

2001-03-23, late night comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.