. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Soda procurement tips

On a tip from Belle,[1] I poked around the web and did, indeed find an online source for Big Red. The description of my very favorite soda ever says "tastes like bubble gum." I'll buy that.

Popsoda.com also stocks such hard-to-find items as Coke and Dr. Pepper made with sugar instead of shudder corn syrup. The Coke has the added advantage of being packaged in 7 ounce glass bottles, the way god intended. (Hell, even I might drink a Coke from a 7 ounce glass bottle.) You can also get your fill of Diet Jones Soda, Jolt, and a number of beverages I had never heard of, including one called simply The Drink.

I don't know why this is important, but it is. I may not even order any Big Red, though Ed and I have been talking about scoring some real Dr. Pepper and having a party that will probably involve many other snack foods, and I would certainly want Big Red for that.

The other note before I go to bed is that I'm going to need everybody's Please Keep Koog out of the Hospital karma around noon eastern tomorrow. I've lost another five pounds since the last time they told me I was losing too much weight. While I'm not unwilling to be fed by I.V., I don't know that it would do any good. Weight gained through liquid feeding will just come right back off, and I can't express how much I hate the food at the hospital. I can't think of too many worse places for me to gain weight than Fairfax Hospital.

Right now I feel all right [2], but I don't do very well in the morning, so I'll take my happy ever-packed hospital bag with me. What I do hope to accomplish tomorrow is to figure out what I have to do to get to feel better. I'm tired of being sick and having virtually no other subject to write about. That just sucks.

[1] Now, Belle claims that Big Red is practically the Official Drink of Texas, which seems strange to me because in Texas, every kind of soda is called "a coke." When you ask somebody if she wants a coke, if she says she does you have to follow up by asking what kind. Also, I'm the only person I've ever known who liked Big Red.

[2] Or as Dr. Jonsson says "All right ... that's not the same as OK." You'll have to forgive him for being a foriegner and me for being sick and curled up in the fetal position during this exchange. Actually what you'll have to forgive is me no longer being able to use the perfectly ordinary term "all right" without thinking of the exchange.

2001-01-31, right after midnight comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.