. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Three Days...

OK, here's what I wrote yesterday:

6/23 (as you can see, I had the date wrong. D'oh.)

Life feels OK today; it's a simple day that has involved blueberry pancakes, new CDs, a nice breeze, grapefruit soda and flipping through a notebook with things written in it every few pages. All good things. Plus, I'm sitting in my car. My car, that has such a nice ring to it, even though I'm already plotting to trade it in on a Subaru.

I woke early this morning, early enough so that the sky was still that morning gray. Why isn't there a word like twilight that applies to the color of the predawn sky? Lola was curled up next to me, she was a little annoyed when I got out of bed to look at the clock. One of the very few things I like about my bedroom is that one cannot see a clock from the bed.

I can think of lots of reasons to sleep in when one has the chance; I can think of a couple of good ones to get up early, namely that it's cooler and quieter early in the morning. Every day, it seems, starts beautifully; it's just that everything is mussed up by the time I get out into it.

The new CDs are of a pair, more or less: Moby, Play and William Orbit, Pieces in a Modern Style. The Moby, well, I must be the last hippish person in the US to buy it. I even like Moby have other discs by him. The Orbit features compositions by people as diverse as John Cage and Antonio Vivaldi; by the way, if anybody actually has either of the two CDs that William Orbit did for the so out-of-print IRS No Speak series, and if that person would like me to copy them for me, I'd be eternally grateful. I had the first one, which I purchased because he was part of a band whose ditties I used to enjoy in the clubs, back when I went to clubs. I learned that the second CD existed when I was searching for the first on ebay. I am not above that, no. Anyway, the first CD was breathtaking.

My other purchases included a portable CD player for the car--and you can thank me later for withholding my rant about "alternative" radio, because it sums up in one sentence: All Pearl Jam, all the time--and a serial cradle for my Visor.

Please forgive me for having given Best Buy almost 150 of my dollars.

Today, on the other hand, has been very uneventful, filled more with things I need to do than things I've done. Mom and Fred are going to New York this weekend, she called about noon; I surprised myself by answering the phone. (Here's the deal: unless I'm expecting a call, I almost never answer the phone in my house. Calling on the phone is actually the best way not to get 'hold of me. Calling my cell phone is somewhat random, since I rarely turned it on, but I'm better about that now. If you actually have the number and you need to reach me, call my cell.)Anyway, I told her that she should bring me a present. Maybe I'll get lucky and she'll figure out that it should be from Patricia Field. Likely not.

I did go out for lunch, and confirmed the appointment for next Wednesday to have a catheter put in my abdomen. Later I will do laundry and think about furniture.

Tomorrow after dialysis I will go to DCCD to see what's in the bins. I can't really justify bringing anything else into the house right now, but CDs are small and useful, and I already have notebooks to store them in, plus boxes for the jewel cases.

After that we're confabbing at Ed's to watch movies on his new TV; I fully expect to come home with a heavy case of electronics envy, but I can live with that. In any case, I prolly won't update until after that, possibly not until Sunday morning, which might not start until after noonish. Do not worry about me!

2000-06-23, 16:49:47 comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.