. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

This is one of those days which the pages of history teach us are best spent lying in bed

I woke up, or rather I came intto the day thinking that it was beautiful, full of nice colors and wonderful smells. I got up early, OK, I never got to sleep, but instead of letting myself go to sleep at 6:15, I got out of bed because I knew I had things to do today.

With the best of intentions, I left the house on foot to walk to the pharmacy. I noticed that, although the last couple of days have been cool in temperature, our trees have fully greened out. There's a day when you notice that every year, and the first time you notice bright green leaves against a bright blue sky ought to knock you off your feet. (If it doesn't, do me a favor and check your pulse.)

So I figured I'd go to the pharmacy and straighten things out there, pick up my refills, then get some breakfast. It's the most important meal of the day, you know. I got to the pharmacy and discovered that the person from the prescription part of my health plan, the Mixed Bag Plan, was mistaken when she told me last night that everything would be fine and that I should be able to refill my prescriptions with no trouble at all.

Instead, my insurance threw me a curve ball that hit me in the head: they require me to use their mail order service. To set up mail order service takes about a month. I'm out of one of my meds, and if I can't get the refill... well, you know.

Each one of these pills costs something like $6; I take 12 of them every day. They want me to pay for them out of pocket. I can do it, I think. I know there are resources to back me up, but somebody screwed up, and I'd like that person's name and telephone number.

I finally got a management type at the Prescription Portion of the Plan, and he agreed to work this whole thing by fax and to expedite the process as much as he can. Meanwhile, my retail pharmacy fronted me some pills to get me through the weekend, at least. Now I have to call the transplant center and try to get this whole thing worked out, then I believe most people would want a drink. It's a good thing I am not most people.

I did get breakfast, by the way. I didn't really enjoy it, but I got it. The day is still lovely, but it's a good thing that I noticed it before the day went bad.

2001-04-26, Morning comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.