. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Thanksgiving Day

Today is Thanksgiving Day here in the States. It's kind of a nice tradition to take a day out to stuff yourself silly, watch grown men in lycra pants chase each other around a field, take a nap and be thankful for things.

Obviously I have many things that make me thankful this year, but the foremost thing is that almost everything makes me hopeful; I like that.

I'm thankful that Hecate didn't actually spend last night outside, though it bothers me that I slept poorly because I thought she might be outside. (She slept curled up on a sweater on Mom's bed; when I found her this morning, she looked very warm and comfortable, even smug in her cat way.)

I'm thankful that the house shows some signs of getting organized, even if it's not as far along as I'd like. It will get there. (It will!)

I'm thankful for all the fabulous things I've bought this year; that sounds vain and weird, but the fabulous things made me happy in a year that otherwise was very difficult for me. That something as seemingly insignificant as a bottle of lotion or a lipstick can make me completely happy is, indeed, something to be thankful for.

I'm thankful for all the doctors and nurses who took care of me this year, and that I was finally able to listen to them; so really, I'm thankful that I took care of myself. Everything went perfectly during my illness: I was still able to live my life, and when something did go wrong, I didn't freak out about it.

I'm particularly thankful--I think grateful is a better word for it--to my donor's family. The young man who died in a traffic accident on October 19 made it possible for Dr. Jonsson to save my life. That continues to amaze me on a daily basis; I expect that I will be amazed for some time to come.

I hope each of you has many things to make you thankful this year.

2000-11-23, afternoon comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.