. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Stress may be hazardous to your health

I had determined that I really, really, really need to get myself back to a normal sleep schedule. It was one of those "Self, this is something you have to do or else" type conversations. So I determined that the best way to accomplish this in the short-term might be over-the-counter sleep-helping-pills.

I know, sleep is serious business, and playing with your body's natural rhythms is dangerous, particularly when chemicals are involved. On the other hand, I don't like sleeping 6-2. That's not natural, and it's not something that evolved out of necessity.

In any case, I took the caplets before retiring, this was around 11:30, which I think is a reasonable hour. Would anybody care to hazard a guess as to what time I woke up? Hmmm?

1:15 p.m.

My theory, which has no basis in science and should be considered no more valid than a wild-ass guess, is that I needed more than 12 hours of sleep in order to recover from the incredible stress that was yesterday.

~~~~~

Oh. The verdict is that I am never going to appear in another photograph as long as I live. You see, in day to day life, I can convince myself that I don't look pale and sick. In photographs this is impossible.

In the future I may amend this ruling to say "Koog will not be photographed while sitting down" or "Koog will not be photographed except by a professional." I believe that the key to not being photographed is to always be the person holding the camera. This means that I need to work on my skills.

(If you're just joining us, I picked up the first roll from my new camera. Most of the pictures are of Lola and Hecate. There's one pretty cool panoramic shot of the Capitol from 7th and Penn, and one really unfortunate picture of me. Rob took it without my knowledge and I am going to have to hurt him now.)

2001-04-27, Afternoon comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.