. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Isn't this a lovely day to get caught in the rain?

Thunderstorms!

There's nothing quite like getting caught out in the rain. It never bothers me, actually I enjoy it. I was just leaving the dialysis center to go to the blood lab when the rain started. The distance between the two places isn't more than a block and a half, so I made it before the rain became a deluge. I knew the deluge was coming, though. The drops that fell were huge, and you never see less than a significant shower with the big drops.

I went upstairs to the blood lab where they know my name by now. How weird is that, when phlebotomists recognize your face. I got my blood drawn and went downstairs where I noted that it was still pouring. The only choice I had was to shop for a while in the pharmacy. The pharmacy in this particular building seemed to be one where you can get weird semi-professional medical supplies for self-treatment of some syndrome that nobody ever heard of; in other words, Tschiffley's is a hypochondriac's wet dream. I mainly went in there to get away from all the people who had taken refuge in the lobby.

I came out with a lipstick, a lip liner, an eyeliner pencil and some anti-bacterial soap. I'm not sure why I got the eyeliner, except that I liked the color a lot. Never mind that I don't wear eyeliner. The lipstick is great, though. It's a sheer brown-plum, and at $3.59, you can't beat it. I love sheer lipsticks!

From there, I got on the Metro at Farragut West so I didn't have to change trains. When I came out of the underground, I could see that there was water running down the escalator. It seemed that the storm moved through the city at about the same speed I did. There was a large crowd opting to stay in the station for a few minutes, but I decided I'd go on up. As the stairs moved, I was hit with a cool breeze and raindrops. It was beautiful, even if I had to hold my hair out of my eyes.

On the way home, I ducked into the consignment shop, and as I did the sky opened up once more. I tried on a few things, the only thing that had to come home with me was a black crepe knit J Crew sweater. Looking at it on the hanger, I thought it was going to be too short, but when I got it on, it appealed to me. The way crepe knit is, it's neither totally opaque nor totally sheer. The sweater has a high V neck, and it fits, but it's not obscenely tight. I liked the way it looked on me, and I can't wait to wear it.

I'd wear it to see Brave Combo tomorrow, except that there are still tubes in my neck. That will look stupid no matter what I wear, but I want to know that if anybody's looking at me, it's because of my cute new sweater, not the Frankenstein Apparatus.

2000-07-14, 18:48:34 comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.