. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

A slow day

I slept late again after a long night. I guess I tried to crawl into bed about 4, then I lay there in the dark for about 15 minutes until Hecate started horking. She made a terrible sound, so painful to my ears that I got out of bed, turned on the light and looked at her.

"Do you need some water?" I asked. She looked at me blankly and then slunk under the bed to rest with the dust bunnies. I located the pile of cat hork on the floor, covered it with a tissue, turned out the light and crawled back in bed.

I am not sure what time I actually fell asleep, but if I got up at 9 to shut off the alarm, I do not recall the action. The alternative is that I slept through an hour of a noise like the one some trucks makes while backing up. The cats were with me, and I wondered why they always take up so much room on a bed. How can any bed have enough space for two cats?

I woke first at 11, then again at 1. I decided that lunch would be the best course of action, so I put on one of my many baggy linen dresses and thought I'd head down to the Market for a crabcake.

When I stepped out onto the front porch, I found a woman I had never seen and a baby in a stroller. She apologized profusely for her presence on my porch, but she said she was hot and needed to sit down. I told her it was no problem and offered her some water before I locked the door and left.

She commented on the "interesting" ness of my neighborhood, which I found a little curious. I was equally curious that she chose my yard, which needs cutting and is full of weeds. Maybe she assumed nobody lived there.

Anyway, leaving the house turned out to be a bad idea. By the time I was in line for lunch, my poor head was spinning and I wanted to sit down. Of course, this would be the day that the cash register goes all weird, so the line was very slow as Brenda calculated totals on paper and made change from the tip jar.

By the time I reached home, I needed to lay down again. On the other hand, the woman with the baby was gone.

I wonder where they came from.

2001-05-03, Evening comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.