. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

*yawn* Koog buys things, film at 11.

Heh. Here I go from an entry that's all thought out to one that starts with me saying Hey, new shoes! Cool!

I probably wouldn't have bought the shoes except that I was tired and my feet hurt. Going to the mall wasn't a good idea, but I wanted to see how long I could hold myself upright. The new shoes are another pair of Borns; they're brown, sort of cloggy, but sort of not. It's hard to describe how a shoe can be a clog and not be a clog at the same time. I mean, just try it. The back part--the part that most clogs lack--comes up less than an inch onto the heel, but they're mighty comfortable and I love them.

(Both Shiitake and Krapsnart have new Birk clogs, and I think that's the reason I've been thinking about shoes lately. I'll take my ugly Scandinavian shoes over Birks just about any day, though.)

Part of the reason I love them is because the size that fit was a 6.5. I've been wearing 8 or even 8.5 for a couple of years now. Yes, I'm acutely aware that none of my shoes fit properly. As of today my real size is 7, according to the sizing plate, but the shoe guy at Nordstrom said I'd be fine buying 7.5 if I wanted an easier time breaking the shoes in, which I do.

My whole purpose in going to the mall on the way home from the doctor was to pick up an atomizer. I did so, and then decided that I wanted some mascara. Rather than go with my initial instinct to get the Body and Soul mascara, which costs something ridiculous like $18, I went with the Bourjois in the darkest brown. I love it. I feel like I can put it on and not look too obvious about wearing mascara. Of course, that's what makeup is all about for me. I tried on a Bourjois lipstick, and I really liked it, but by the time I decided I liked it enough to buy it I had forgotten the name of the color. That's OK, I didn't need another lipstick.

However, I did need those shoes. One of my tasks for tonight, after getting the wash ready to go to the laundry tomorrow morning, is to go through my shoes with the goal of separating the salvageable from the hopeless. I might also go through the makeup kit to see if anything strikes me as hopeless. Oh, newsflash, I hit metal on a blush, that's the first time since high school.

I think that calls for a woohoo. Don't you?

2001-02-07, afternoon comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.