. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

The people in my neighborhood

My Lola is home, and I'm so happy to have her back. According to the vet, she came through the tooth extractions just fine. (I saw the teeth when I went to pick her up and I felt so irresponsible about letting them get that bad, but she hates having fingers near her mouth. Dr. Stephens asked if I wanted to keep the teeth, but no thanks.)

As soon as I stepped inside the door, I could hear her yowling. She was upstairs, but she knew I was there. The vet techs all said she was good during her stay, Dr. Stephens even said she made her happy noise. (When Lola is particularly happy, she purrs and there's a harmonic sound over the rumbling. It's almost like cooing.)

She looks different with her new haircut, and in different ways than I was expecting. You see, her undercoat is buff and gray, while her outer coat is yellow, black and white torti. Her skin is loose, a little like a young shar-pei and her tail is very slim with a black shock at the end. This is the lion cut, and she almost resembles the king of the jungle.

She came home with a patch that gives her pain killers, and the doc said she's very fond of it. This should come as no surprise, considering how fond she is of catnip. Yes, my Lola would probably be a hophead if she had her druthers.

Every day, I am thankful for Lola, and all the animals I know. On my way home from the pharmacy, I stopped to scritch Digby the golden retriever's nose, and he shook hands with me! It was just the coolest thing; I stopped to say hi and he offered me his paw.

I've always figured that I can't be that bad since dogs and children like me instantly. I have trouble with some adults, but I think that's true for everybody.

2001-03-08, night comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.