. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Memories fade, but the scars still linger

Does anybody else remember the song that's quoted in the title to this entry? Hint: it's from the 80s.

I'm back to feeling good; there's no apparent reason, so it's prolly a side effect of the prednisone, which can cause... mood swings. As if I really needed a drug that affects me so.

Stopped at the new Harris Teeter on the way home from Fairfax. Damn! It's not as big and opulent as that huge-antic Loblaw's in Toronto, but it's the closest thing we've got here in the DC metro area, which is dramatically lacking in decent places to buy groceries.

Harris Teeter is a clean, well-lighted place. Seriously, the lighting makes everything look shiny and pretty, even the mushrooms and squashes. They stock President's Choice products and because this one just opened, all the displays are full of foody goodness.

The aisles are wide and clearly marked, and if you know what you're looking for, shopping there is a good experience. I mean, even wandering the aisles was fun. I'm sure part of my pleasure in the store happened because it was nearly empty at 9:30 in the morning, but then, I don't want to be anywhere near any grocery store during peak shopping hours.

Today's visit to the transplant center was uneventful, except that Dr. Jonsson had my forms filled out, which impressed the nurse; she went on about how remarkable his efficiency was for at least three minutes. OK then.

The rest of the staples come out Friday, and I'll be happy to have them gone. At this point, it doesn't look like the scar will be bad; within a year, it might not even be visible. If that's the case, Dr. J will be my hero, forever. When I reduce thinking about the transplant and all the associated issues, a lot of my worries about having the transplant deal with the scars resulting from the surgery. I was worried about the scars even more than the immunosuppressive drugs. Now it seems that those fears were groundless.

Sometimes it's good to be wrong.

2000-11-08, morning comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.