. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Good Stuff, Maynard

Pale Horse, Pale Rider.

Sounds like salad to me!

So here's what I had for dinner tonight and last night:

Two grilled chicken breasts, chopped
One half a Fuji apple, chopped
1/4 cup chopped onion
1/2 cup diced cucumber
1 T capers, drained
Juice of one lemon
Ground pepper to taste
Yogurt and Mayonnaise mixed, roughly 1/3 cup

Toss veggies, capers, apple and lemon juice while you chop the chicken. Add mayo-yogurt mix. I used Trader Joe's mayo and Brown Cow whole milk plain yogurt about half and half. Toss again. Let it sit and meld for a few minutes while you open the salad in a bag.

My salad in a bag came from Earthbound Farms, it's their Fresh Herb Salad Mix and Oh.My.God, I almost fainted at its goodness. It's organic baby lettuce and other field-ish greens mixed with fresh dill, cilantro and parsley. If you love herbs as much as I do, you will love this stuff. Their FAQ reports that you may e-mail to get a list of places where their products are sold.

You think I'm kidding about that fainting thing, don't you? You'd be wrong. I react strongly to food and other things that I really, really enjoy. I have been known to swoon.

This is one of the few telltale signs that I am from the South (1). Apparently only Canadians can hear my accent, but they never miss it.

~~~~~

(1)For these purposes, I will align Texas with the South. I'll own that it is a very strange place, not like any other place in the US by a long shot. Texas is, in fact, a Whole 'Nother Country; but that doesn't stop it from being extremely Southern, especially in terms of dialect, y'all.

2000-08-19, 00:51:23 comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.