. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

The day it rained forever

Hey! The diaryland time stamp works now. Excellent.

(That doesn't mean I'm going to leave it alone, just that it works after months and months of not working. Rock on.)

This is one of those days, those wet days when you look out at the rain and ask yourself when it will stop. The rain has to stop some time, right? Today, I am not so sure that is true.

Washington is soaked to the mortar with water flying everywhere--from the skies, from the streets, from the trees. I wonder if the sun still shines under all that cloud cover. In a car, visibility is near zero; I am particularly glad not to be a pilot today.

We need the rain. I read that water going into the Chesapeake is down almost 40% from this time last year. I have to ask, though: did we need it all today? My solution is to gather a magnificent storm right over the bay, then let 'er rip. Problem solved.

In the mean time, the cats and I are going to curl up and drink tea while we wait for this morning's lab results. Well, I'm going to drink tea. I do not think the girls like tea, although I had some mixed nuts on a plate and Lola pinched an almond then gobbled it down.

I do not expect today's lab results to be good, but I've been surprised before; for instance, I had no idea cats ate nuts.

2001-03-21, morning, still comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.