. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

A man in a coonskin cap and a pigpen wants eleven dollar bills, you only got ten.

Over the past couple of days, I've been retaining fluids like I don't know what. The bothersome thing is that I don't know why. I haven't changed what I eat, haven't changed my habits much except that I sleep more normal hours now; the only difference is that I'm back at work.

This could be a problem.

~~~~~

Things I've learned on VH-1, part the first.

Pete Townshend played banjo before he played guitar. Really, I had no idea.

~~~~~

Ellen doubts that she can find happiness and satisfaction without a mate. Maybe she's right; maybe she can't, but if you go in with the expectation that you can't do something, what are your chances, really?

I think my attitude really comes down the idea that I don't look down the road too much. Live for the moment--live in the moment, that's how I get by. There's no future in that, of course. When I do look down the figurative road, it seems weird almost to the point of surreality.

That applies in real life, too. I was out and about last week and I chanced to peer down a street. I could see for blocks and blocks and the further I saw, the less connected I was to my vision. The end of that street was a shimmering mass of color and light.

I was confronted with a metaphor. Interesting, to say the least. To bring this back around, I know most people don't see the world the way I do, but I'm not sure I could see the world as I do if I had to cope with somebody else on a regular basis. This, above anything, is why I say I'm happy being single.

I just wanted to point out that it is possible. However, I don't think that being single is for everybody.

~~~~~

Now, if you were looking for a plum lipstick that wasn't too dry, I'd urge you to try Neutrogena's Violet Ice. I never, ever would have looked at this color because of the name. It came in a drugstore.com GWP. (That stands for Gift With Purchase for the uninitiated.) I don't think I'd try the Neutrogena in dark colors at all, because it feels like it's not going to stay where I put it, but for neutrals, the texture is nice. This is a very soft plum. A MAC artist explained to me why plum lipsticks tend to be dry, it's because of the pigment. Many high-end plum lipsticks have a little bit of clay. Makes sense, doesn't it?

A Stila artist told me that plum is the shade that looks good on everybody, so there you have it. Go get a plum lipstick!

2000-10-04, morning comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.