. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Every time it rains, it rains pennies from hell

One of the things I did while I was cleaning up downstairs was consolidation of the many loose change jars and cans in the house. I knew there was a lot of change, but I didn't have any idea how much. Today I hauled two out of three Ziploc bags full of change down to the local Safeway to pour the coins into the Coinstar change counting machine.

Basically, the deal is that you empty your container of change onto a little shelf with a handle that empties into the counting and sorting part of the machine. It spits out what it doesn't want, counts the rest, subtracts just under nine cents per dollar and gives you a voucher for cash or an option to donate your change to a non-profit.

I started to unload the first bag, but as I poured, the machine got clogged from overloading. The whole thing froze up. I dreaded the thought of having to pick up all my coins because I'd broken the machine, so I settled for a few handfuls, which I returned to the bag.

After all was said and done, there were coins from Canada, Mexico, France and Denmark in the reject bin, along with a slug and a couple of old subway tokens. Also rejected were pennies with significant oxidation and a random assortment of dimes and nickles. The machine accepted two Susan B. Anthony dollars, 101 quarters, 541 dimes, a whole bunch of nickles and well over two thousand pennies. I donated $126.00 to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.

I still have another bag to take over there, and maybe I'll donate that bag to somebody else. I think that's a reasonably good fundraising idea, though. I especially think Spare Change for Homeless Animals is a great idea. I don't know if your local animal shelter or rescue organization is set up with Coinstar who operates these machines, but if they're not, you could convert your spare change and donate that amount to your favorite local animal helpers.

What were you really going to do with all the change hanging around in your sofa, anyway?

Oh. One tidbit from the baby shower that I failed to share yesterday. Bits had pictures from her last sonogram, which she showed to anybody who was willing to look. The images were odd, especially when the baby turned its face toward the viewer. Babies look like aliens, I tell you. I honestly can't imagine how weird it must have been to see that happening live and in person. Bits said it freaked her out, which sounds about right to me. I think I would have asked for a sedative.

2001-04-30, Evening comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.