. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Brrrrrring

I have come to rant about reserve price auctions.

See, there was this ring I wanted. A lovely opal in 18 karet gold, made around 1910. It's exactly what I wanted. I was bidding against two other people, which was fine. There was pretty much no limit to what I would have paid for this ring.

I was the first bidder. Somebody outbid me, and then today, when the auction closed I rebid. I am the high bidder, and I think my high bid is perfectly fair... but I haven't hit the reserve.

I don't mind people protecting themselves by setting a high entry price, but for one thing, this particular ring is located in England, so I'm a tad wary. For another... well, I hate paying the guessing game. Set your entry price at whatever your minimum sale price is. I'm sorry that you want to make me guess how much you'll sell the piece for...

I'm just irked, is all.

I like the ring. I'm willing to negotiate.

2000-10-12, evening comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.