. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Continuity of Cookies

You guys RAWK. My plea for cookie recipes garnered several very useful responses, including a recipe from Catiecake for some cookies I had been thinking about, but I was sure I was going to have to guesstimate at the recipe.

Squib kindly pointed me to Martha Stewart, and I felt very silly that I had forgotten the Official Arbiter of All Things Domestic, if she Does Say So Herself. I realize that I am not the only person in the U.S. who could forget Martha Stewart, but I was surprised that I didn't think of her first. D'oh.

In any case, tomorrow I'm going to Trader Joe's, where Fedward and I went this weekend; I ducked out of the hellish line because I didn't have cash or a check and didn't want to wait 45 minutes to buy my stuff. I felt bad for the people who were going to have to restock my basket, but I also knew that chances were high one of those people had a bug I didn't want to catch, and that getting the hell out of TJ's was the best plan at the moment.

She is right; I do need a stand mixer, but I believe that my trusty Cuisinart will do for mixing the dough part. I know it's not the absolute best for the flour, but for my purposes it will be OK. If all else fails, I'll resort to, you know, stirring with a big wooden spoon. I've done that before, and it's not that many cookies. I can pretend I'm a pioneer woman.

My plans for today include cleaning up the kitchen and finishing some tasks in re-organizing it. As part of that, I'll take cookie baking inventory and make a good grocery list. I also need to take a quick run to the mall to exchange something, and I was going to take one more pass at getting the VCR to work. (Yes, I could buy another one for next to nothing, but I don't need a VCR, I just need to watch this one video tape.) Oh, and I have to make some phone calls.

First I am going to get dresssed. I will let y'all know what I'm baking when I've completed the list, because I'm sure you're curious now. (Well, I'd be curious, and you know how I like to share.)

2000-12-05, morning comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.