. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Insomnia

It's 2:10 a.m. as I sit here. I don't know what time the diaryland.com clock says it is, but it's 2:10 to me.

Let me say this without reservation: I ought to be tucked in my bed sleeping soundly by now. I've been awake since roughly 8:45 yesterday morning after finally getting to sleep about 6. You do the math. I was out for some of the day, then came back here but didn't take a nap. I knew if I took a nap I'd be useless for the rest of the day, so I stayed awake. My goal was to stay up until 10, but Rob and Ed stayed over after dinner and we watched Raging Bull and talked for a while. I'd forgotten how starkly beautiful that film is.

Earlier tonight I spent a couple of hours working on a story I haven't touched in months. It sucks; there's one good sentence in the whole thing, but I love that one sentence like a child. The rest, I can work with.

I wrote longhand. God, it felt good to suck. I'd stop and try to worry over a word choice or a spelling and I'd tell myself to go on; I went on and at the end I wrote down those words I'd been thinking about, and they fit: the prize was mine. I got where I needed to get.

~~~~~

Oh. Lush Flotsam soap? With the sand in it? Rocks my world.

2000-08-05, 03:22:29 comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.