. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

The moral of the story

I had a couple of fits of decisiveness earlier today.

First, I bought some black shoes. I've been looking for some new black shoes for months and found nothing to suit my fancy. I think my attitude about shoes has changed dramatically. I used to be satisfied much more easily, but now they have to be stylish, comfortable, and preferably imported. This always spells "expensive" in my crazy moon language. Even when I buy shoes on sale they're spendy. Whatever happened to the days when I wore Keds all the time. Oh yeah, puberty.

The shoes are black leather clogs from a Spanish company called MAG. I like their logo because it vaguely resembles the biohazard symbol. The sole is a two-parter, and it's latex. I think I'm going to love these shoes. If they work out I'll go back and get the Mary Janes from the same line.

My other purchase was glasses, and it's about time. I've needed new glasses for at least a year, but I couldn't find any frames that satisfied me at a reasonable price. Today I had somebody helping me and he set me up with some nice looking rectangular frames in a dark tortise. They're not too heavy, so I won't look geeky. It turned out that my insurance covered about half the cost, which rocked my world.

As I was walking home from the Metro, I was thinking how it's important to stop sometimes. A wind came upon me and ruffled the leaves of the trees above 9th Street. I stopped to listen.

I think the wind talks, but in a language only skin can understand.

2000-09-12, afternoon comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.