. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

So, Koog, tell us about your day!

Hooray Baltimore.

I spent most of the day doing things. First, Ed and I met Rob at his place to partake of espresso from the Chrome Goose, which is the new spendy espresso maker Rob recently acquired. The first batch was cappuccino, which is OK I guess, but I really prefer my espresso straight. Rob made the second batch with no milk and--as expected--I preferred it.

The Chrome Goose makes dandy espresso. Krispy Kreme makes dandy doughnuts. All was good.

I snoozed a little on the chaise, Ed read this week's Dan Savage aloud and we all laughed, then I got a little hungry and after some deliberation, we went to Clyde's in Chevy Chase. The food was merely all right. Ed's burger was cooked beyond recognition, an unfortunate thing that happens all too often in these parts. I had something that masqueraded as a Cobb Salad, and Rob had some pasta that I think we all considered ordering. Naturally, Rob was the most pleased with his choice.

I finished the salad for dinner, but that was all I ate today. Bah. Did you know that losing weight can be depressing? It can. It is.

After we ate, Rob drove my car back to my house because I had low blood pressure, a headache and had been shaking from cold all afternoon. He stayed to watch the Super Bowl, and I was so happy that the Ravens won. It's not that I'm a huge Ravens fan--I mean, their stadium is trimmed in purple neon and they sold its naming rights to PSInet, for crying out loud--but I think Baltimore deserves football more than any city I can think of. Certainly more than Washington deserves baseball.

Watching the game and listening to the lame commentary from Greg Gumbel and Phil Simms, I remembered how much I know about professional football. (Hint: it's probably more than you'd expect.) Rob kept wanting somebody to say that this was a game of inches, but this one really wasn't, so nobody said it. They kept gabbing as if the who would win was ever in question, although it wasn't in my mind.

Bob Irsay did a bad, bad thing in pulling the Colts out and moving them to Indy under cover of night, so I like to think of this as his comeuppance. How many Super Bowls have the Indianapolis Colts won, hmmm? Baltimore managed to keep the Colts band together during the no-team era, now they play for the Ravens. I think that's very cool. I don't know when the parade will be, or where, but if I can get a train up that-a-way, I'll go.

Winner among the ads was eTrade, first runner-up was VW. I fully agree with Ed, who said that Pepsi should just go away. I like how they finally thought to change "The Joy of Cola" to "The Joy of Pepsi." I think that qualifies for my general reaction to almost everything these days, which is Shut up! But at least the little urchin is gone, a fact that makes me truly thankful.

Since I didn't care about Survivor the first time around, I assume I won't care about it the second time around. We watched Shaft on Encore instead.

So, that's my How was your day, Koog? entry for a while. It was kind of nice to have one, even if I didn't feel particularly well.

2001-01-29, night comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.