. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

A mixed bag...

Apparently, I'm all right.

Dr. Jonsson said I am; he reiterated that I look great (though I think he said "amazing") and I'm inclined to believe him. He also said that I could come out there less often, which is great news. It seems that every time I think I may be having problems, there's no problem. I'm also getting pretty good at knowing what the doctors are going to tell me before they tell me. This could be dangerous, but I'm determined that I won't self-medicate, because I know that could cause trouble.

Don't want trouble, nope.

I managed to drive myself to the hospital this morning, which was cool; I was quite comfortable driving, though I haven't driven since June. Mom had spent the night at Fred's place last night and had said she'd be here to take me out there, but she wasn't. Apparently she got the time wrong, though I don't know how, since it's always the same time. I called her at 7:45 and said I'd drive myself. I was annoyed, and I'm still annoyed. I figured out why, though: I've been pretty much incapacitated over the last month, but it's not as if she's been any help at all. When I take a nap--as I did for two hours this afternoon--it's not as if she does anything productive with that time. There are times when I think I've accomplished more than she has over the last month, which really sucks. So I think I'm justified in my annoyance.

One nice thing about figuring out why I'm so annoyed is that I might be able to let go of it now. That would rock. I really have better things to do with my time and energy than be annoyed.

I made good, nourishing soup for dinner, here's how:

Chop one onion and two large shallots; press three cloves of garlic; saute in a dutch oven with olive oil for about 10 minutes. Add 8 oz. sliced regular mushrooms and 1 tablespoon butter; chop two portobello mushrooms into medium dice, stir into onion mixture.

Add 1 quart broth (of your choice, I used a combination of beef and mushroom from the giant juice-box like carton) and 2 teaspoons of molasses, 1 teaspoon salt, coarsely ground white pepper. Bring to a boil, cover, reduce heat; add pre-cooked lentils, about 1 cup; simmer for about 30 minutes.

Check seasoning, add water if it's too salty, or adjust to taste; simmer another 10 minutes.

Serve with dense wheat bread, or over a scoop of brown rice.

~~~~~

I just have to make this comment: there's something really invigorating about spending time with somebody who has no problem flirting with you. It doesn't have to mean anything, it's a complete breath of fresh air, and I even flirted back. I don't remember the last time I flirted with anybody.

~~~~~

Oh. What Malice Said.

2000-11-20, evening comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.