. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Humbug

Humbug

Sometimes I look at the list of hosts from which people get to this here web site, and sometimes I am amazed. I wouldn't ever have known that I have so many regular readers who work in health-related fields. Every so often I wonder who they are, and then I really don't want to know.

There are some folks whose machines or ISPs I can immediately identify; I know my readers in Reston, Seattle, and Springfield, Mass. I can recognize Chinacat, Fedward, and my mom. (Hi Mom, I know you're out there.) There are some others I know, but the rest of y'all are a blur to me.

That's kind of cool. It's not like I'm baring my soul here, I'm not that kind of person.

However, I think you all need to be aware of the increasing profit margins of Big Oil Companies. Exxon-Mobil is up almost 40% over the same quarter last year; Conoco is up almost 60%. Does that not strike you as wrong?

I was driving around this afternoon listening to some congressional hearings in which senators from western states were complaining about this. I hope they know that the rest of the country is suffering, too. It's not like gas is still $1.00 a gallon in Virginia while in Northern California folks pay $2.00.

Barbara Boxer is probably not the stupidest woman in California, and she may not be the least-competent person in the U.S. Senate, but I'll tell you, listening to her whine over and over for half-an-hour about how bad it is in California is enough to make me turn off C-Span radio.

Sure, it's bad in California. It's bad everywhere, and nobody is talking about reducing our dependence on fossil fuels. This angers me. (Not enough to join the Green party, but it does make me mad.) If all that stands between the U.S. and exhausting its natural resources is Barbara Boxer, I think we should all be scared.

Now I'm off to get coffee, to make sure I spend the rest of the evening as riled up as possible.

2001-04-25, Afternoon comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.