. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Little things

Little things...

Like Squib, I scored on ebay in the camera arena the other day. I haven't had a digital camera since right after they came on the market, and in those days it was used to take pictures of things to sell on ebay. I almost never used it to do fun things, even to take regular pictures.

I've been thinking about buying a digital camera, but there's that nagging suspicion that it would just gather dust like all my other toys. (Can you say "Handspring Visor"? I knew you could. I'm the only person I know who doesn't use her PDA, probably because I've had to do the hard reboot with the paper clip twice, thus losing all my data.)

The other day, I visited ebay just so I could check out the prices and I found one, a camera I'd read reviews on, for a very reasonable price. The auction was ending in a few minutes, so I bid and won. Sweet! The camera is an Olympus D-200. It has something like 8 MB of memory, and better than that, it will allow me to see if I'll actually use it. I've never been much of a shutterbug, but I'd like to be able to take pictures of the cats so you all can see how pretty they are.

The other thing I scored on that visit was an out of print CD that I've been looking for off and on for years. Max Eider, The Best Kisser in the World. You've never heard of Max Eider, but he was part of the Jazz Butcher back in the 80s. His one solo record was amazing.

I have the weirdest collection of music from the 80s; there's not a New Wave Classic in sight. Generally when I score something I used to have on vinyl, I'm all excited about it and when I name the band I get responses like "who?"

The other little thing is pretty big. Conversely, it won't require nearly as many words: I've finished the transplant testing. I'm on the list for a kidney and a pancreas.

I'm more nonplussed about this than I thought I'd be. My brother is in testing to see if he's an eligible donor. If he is, we'll go ahead with that at his convenience. I've also heard stories of people getting calls a few weeks after being put on the list. While I wouldn't expect that, it's been known to happen.

So now I wait.

2000-09-15, noonish comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.