. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Chapter Nine, in which Koog talks about shoes and lipstick

Forgive me if I keep staring at my feet; they look like my feet again, and this is good. Off and on for the past three or so years, my feet, ankles and later my legs would swell up like water balloons. I had seen doctors about it, but mostly I worried about it. The swelling always went away, eventually, until this last time when it didn't. I remember when I first noticed it, I pouted that my feet looked like _____'s feet; _____ being a person I knew at the time who had sort of stubby, puffy feet. I wasn't pleased.

The major advantage of being on dialysis is that the swelling has finally gone down. Now, when I look at my feet, I see, well, feet. And I smile. Of course, I put on my spiffy Timberland urban hikers today and they don't really fit any more because my feet were so swollen when I bought them. I put those particular shoes on because I had decided to take the Metro down to GWU Medical Center, and that would involve a little walking. It doesn't count as an urban hike, but whatever. You want the real reason I chose those shoes? They went with my outfit.

Take that. The outfit was only denim shorts and a baggy gray t-shirt, but my shoes went with it. I felt special enough that I wore frosty lipstick.

The upshot of my trip to the GWU Medical Center--and wasn't there a TV show on many many years ago called Medical Center, and didn't it star somebody named Chad Everett?--is that I have to go back again next month, and the month after that, and the month after that. Quelle fun for me, and for you; don't you know I'll tell all about it right here...

Actually, my tendancy to blather about my health has come in handy in that I was able to look back and see how I was feeling on any given day when I needed that information. I look forward to the time when I have something else to talk about.

~~~~~

The point of makeup is to look like you're not wearing any... of course, this takes two hours.--Calvin Klein
I was thinking about themes in my life last night: my quests, my grails if you will. One of the pursuits of my adult life has been the perfect lip-colored lipstick. It began when I was about 16 and I mixed, through some combination of alchemy and luck, a gloss that very closely matched the shade of my own lips. The stuff I made lasted for about a year, after which I was on my own.

The first try failed miserably. Chanel French Pink. This was an opaque pale blueish-peachish pink. It was the first lipstick I had ever had that cost more than $10; oh, and it came in a square tube, which I thought was very chic indeed. It tasted vaguely of Chanel No. 5 and when I remember what it looked like on me, I recoil in horror that I went through three tubes of this stuff before realizing how bad it looked: chalky and vaguely fluorescent.

The next attempt was a Clinique thing called Super Nectar, I don't remember what feature made this line of lipsticks Super, but there was something. This shade was paler than my lips, and it was the peachiest lipstick I had ever worn. Actually, I think the proper term for the color was pale coral. It wasn't bad, but it was still kind of thick; I remained on the hunt.

Fast forward several years during which I wore reds and plums to the early 90s and MAC's Florien, a medium pink in a satin finish. I don't know what I was thinking, this was a clear step back in the direction of French Pink. It took me two tubes of Florien, which I was convinced was The One, before I realized my mistake. This realization was spurred on by finding MAC Spirit.

I took one look at Spirit and saw the shade from long ago, the one I had mixed myself. Spirit has the advantage of being a light-medium brownish pink. I honestly don't know if it's still available, but it's a good lipstick. It was much more subtle than any of my previous tries, but it wasn't perfect.

Three tubes of Spirit was the end of my MAC phase. I believe that they think of their Viva Glam II as a lip-colored miracle because noted non-makeup wearer k.d. lang agreed to promote it. Sure, but I think it's too blue in the tube.

The next thing I tried was Bobbi Brown's Nude. This is a classic shade, but it was a little too orangey for me. I swapped it away, via alt.fashion, to a woman in Ohio for a really nice Poppy shade that I recently ran out of and seems to be discontinued.

The current contender in stick form seems to be Stila Jill, which I've seen described as "caramel." It's got a nice texture, though I'd be happier if it were a little tiny bit bolder.

I have no doubt that I will find the perfect pale-to-medium pinkish brown-brownish-pink satin texture lipstick, though. It is my destiny.

2000-06-21, 19:49:55 comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.