. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Deadpan, or not

Today has been nice, weatherwise; otherwise there's been a saw operating on a tree in a neighbor's yard. I do not know which neighbor is taking down a tree, but I keep thinking of American Beauty and the running commentary about the neighbor's tree.

I finally watched the DVD of American Beauty a few days ago, though I bought it before Christmas on one of the few December days I was out of the hospital. I'm not sure what I expected, but I did not expect to cry even more and even harder than I did when I first saw the movie in a theatre.

Now I'm heading down to Eastern Market to pick up a few vegetables to put in with the red beans I've been soaking. Maybe I'll get salad greens if they look good. What I really really want is a new chef's knife and a serrated knife suitable for slicing tomatoes, but I don't think I can get those at the Market. I should decide what I want and then order online, that's the best idea. Of course, with knives you have to feel them in your hands, and unless there's some substantial reason to buy online, I think I'd rather have the instant gratification of a local purchase.

Actually, I wish I knew what I wanted now so I could call some catalog's order line and say that I'm getting the knives for Valentine's Day. Hee.

I doubt I'm the only person who would find that funny, but I don't think I know anybody else who would laugh.

2001-02-08, afternoon comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.