. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Gurl Stuff

Alert! Attention! Achtung!

If you are one of those people who likes Body and Soul's Thrill lipstick as much as I do, I have a bit of advice for you. Run, do not walk, to the nearest place that carries Urban Decay and buy the Fur lipstick. It's very nearly perfect, a lip-colored sheer with a slight shimmer. (For some of you, that will be urbandecay.com. Tell 'em Koog sent you.)

If that doesn't send your heart into pitter-patters, it's more interesting than it sounds. You see, in summer, I tend to wear very pale frost lipsticks. Stila's Jane is a favorite as is Nars' Viva Las Vegas. This works on me because I have pale skin. I also think it works on women of color, but not necessarily on white girls with tans. (White girls with tans can wear those gorgeous corals and bright pinks, whereas I look like a clown even standing near one of those colors.)

Anyway, Fur is the sort of color that can be worn by women of most skin tones. It's a color that would fit in perfectly well at the office, but it's still summery. When I try to put on a matte or satin lipstick in the summertime, I feel all weird, like I'm wearing too much makeup. That's bad, but Fur is good.

In other girly news, I finally bought myself a Christmas present from Dad. If I told the story about Dad asking exactly what I wanted, then managing to purchase an item that I already owned, which I returned in exchange for a gift certificate, well, there you have it again. I'm still of the opinion that you can't go wrong at Lands' End, becuse their stuff is well constructed if not the most stylish in the world, plus the company has an unlimited return policy. (They stand by that policy. I've returned things purchased at Lands' End like three years later.)

So last night I got my gift certificate out and used it to purchase a nifty summer-weight bathrobe in Aegean Blue, slippers to match the robe, and some knit sleepwear. It is my opinion that the best sleepwear is that which moves with you when you turn over. In other words, knit. I still love my woven jammies from The Cat's Pajamas, but for the most part I'm all about knit sleepwear.

Really, I'm all about sleepwear because I'm all about sleep. Tweleve beautiful hours last night and into the afternoon. Mmmmm.

2001-05-29, Afternoon comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.