. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Facts about Cats

Tomorrow is the volunteer orientation at the Washington Animal Rescue League. Have I mentioned lately that you just might need a pet, and that if you need a pet, you should think about adopting?

Anyway, I have been telling myself that I don't need more cats in the house. I have only one lap, and although my affection for felines is almost limitless, my lap is not that large. Then I had a thought, and I think it's important enough to share.

It doesn't really matter if I need another cat or not; if another cat needs me, I'll have another cat. I am fully aware that I'm a sucker, but when the time comes, is there any way to say no? For the record, I am not a crazy cat lady. Lola and Hecate are only two, and Hecate isn't really mine. I am not in the market for a third cat; however, I am aware that if another cat chooses me, I will not say no.

I remember that when Lola showed up on my doorstep back in 1997, I had just been thinking that I might need a cat. I looked at a couple of web sites for local shelters and was thinking about calling when Lola came. (Well, technically I was in the kitchen looking for munchies when Lola came, but that's a whole 'nother story.) In any case, she knew. Cats know where they belong, and with whom.

I assume it's the same thing that people mean when they say "you just know."

2001-05-20, Midnightish comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.