. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Hey ! Let's put on a show!

Ugh, I may become a joiner yet.

There was one defining moment in my first hospital stay last month. On the last day, Dr. P. came to check me out and he looks at me for a second and says "Do you have a way to get on the internet?" To which I responded "Well, not with me." He laughed, and that was the first time I had ever really thought that doctors are regular people.

He gave me the URL for the National Kidney Foundation and said it had a lot of information. I looked, and frankly I thought he was nuts. I did not find what I considered a lot of information there. I shrugged my shoulders, wrote Dr. P off as an internet philistine and went on about my business.

I'm not sure what made me go back tonight, except that I started my first peritoneal dialysis exchange a few hours ago and I'm looking to kill another hour so I can drain the fluid and sleep without all that stuff sloshing around inside me. I thought "hmm, kidney.org." and I found much more information.

There's all this activity going on. For instance, I learned that each treatment at the center costs the government--or somebody's insurance company--$125. Each kidney patient receives roughly 156 treatments every year, for a total cost of $20,000 a year.

I thought it would be more. Apparently the number has been the same since 1983. I'm not even one of them any more, and I think the $125 per treatment is too low a number. Although the feds pay for 80% of kidney treatment, I think it's weird that they set the amount that they'll pay out. That's just surreal.

I don't really want to be an activist or a crusader. I don't want to be an advocate, a champion, or an inspiration to anybody... but I keep thinking maybe I could do something.

In any case, it's time to drain. Get used to hearing that, it's my life now.

2000-07-15, 02:29:38 comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.