. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Hooray for Everybody!

No, really it's just hooray for me, but I thought that sounded a little too self-centered, so I changed it.

I accomplished one of the things that's been on my conceptual to-do list for many, many months. Namely, I installed the patch on my Visor that will make sure it stops losing all its data every time the batteries are changed. Boy did that suck. No wonder I hated the thing. (I really did hate the thing, which made a nice but expensive paperweight.) Perhaps I'll like it better now.

For whatever reason, every other Visor owner I know likes it quite a bit. I don't know whether that means I'm just a freak, or what. I was never much of a datebook user, either. I remember a time when an employer bought me an enormous Filofax to help me get more organized, an idea that makes me laugh hysterically now. I made pretty collages out of the divider pages. Seriously, mine was the coolest Filofax ever because I would draw something in Illustrator, print it out and then wax it onto the page.

That job lasted about six months.

In any case, I think the next thing from my long-term to-do list, which exists only in my head and has never been written out in any form, is to send away my Lifetime Guarantee Wheeled Suitcase from Eagle Creek to be repaired. I've called them twice to get a ticket number, but since I've never had the correct size box for a piece of luggage, and because both those calls were immediately followed by serious health problems, I've never actually followed through.

Of course, I haven't done that much travelling lately, either. It's not like my life suffers much from the lack of a wheeled suitcase. Still, I was annoyed that the thing broke the second time I used it, back in, um, 1999. That part sucked, and continues to suck. I seriously doubt that I'll ever buy another Eagle Creek product.

However, you can pretty much count on me buying more stuff from Lands' End. One of the pieces of my last order from them was the Mini Tote. (I'd link you to it, except that their URL structure doesn't seem very universal to me.) When Rob first saw it he said "Please tell me that's not yours," but it has been widely admired by most of the women who have seen it, all of whom want to know where it came from. The web site copy describes it as "cute as a button" and I can't think of a better way to describe it. Mine is natural with black and white gingham trim, and it set me back $10, which I think is a pretty good deal. It's a good, cute little bag good for carrying a few things on a summer day. If you get one, people will ask you where you got it.

It comes in a lot of colors, several of which have gingham varieties. I guess this means gingham is in this year. I don't know if that's a good thing or not, but I don't have any and I'm not rushing out to the mall to buy gingham things to go with my bag. I have no desire to look like Dorothy from The Wizard of Oz.

This means I think pigtails on anybody past elementary school age are a bad idea. TRL viewers, this means you.

2001-05-01, Afternoon comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.