. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Gee it's good to be back home again

What is today, anyway?

I'm home. I'm still tired--feeling about 60%--but I'm home.

Food is not my friend, but I believe Lola still loves me. My bed is still comfortable, and that's really all that matters to me right now.

Basically, what was wrong with me was something called ATN, or advanced tubular necrosis. In other words, the blood vessels and veins that connect my transplanted kidney to my body were all tangled up. I lost blood flow to my new kidney for an unknown amount of time, but Dr. Jonsson fixed me up by basically retransplanting my new kidney several days ago.

They have done their best to reassure me that my new kidney will make a full recovery, but it will take several weeks. I'm on limited activity for a while, although I can drive, which is cool. I suspect that I will spend a lot of time driving back and forth between home and the hospital for follow-up work.

I'm about out of energy, but wanted to say that I'm home. Eventually I may have something amusing to say about the whole experience, but for right now, I'm just glad to be home.

2001-01-16, 23:30:57 comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.