. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

I try to speak the language and it comes out sounding like "Here I am, Stupid American."

Notes to Fedward: I have lived in this part of the world for ten years, give or take a couple of excursions; I have never, ever, heard anybody call the George Washington Parkway "the GWP." It's either "the GW"--in which you sound out both letters--or "the Parkway." The other parkway in this part of the world is the Baltimore-Washington Parkway, which is officially named the Gladys Noon Spellman Parkway, but actually called the BW Parkway, but never the BWP.

I do not know who Gladys Noon Spellman might have been. It's one of those Sweet Mysteries of Life.

And another thing: if you wore lipstick, I'm sure plum would look fine on you. Not wearing it doesn't mean that the color would look bad. As a matter of fact, I think you own at least one plum shirt. OK then.

~~~~~

Weirdest song ever heard in CVS: "Anchorage," by Michelle Shocked. It brought back memories of a night several years ago when I stayed out way too late and did things I really shouldn't have. All said, I could probably have done without that night, but I don't think I'll ever forget that night, which ended up with me behind the wheel of a car, singing at the top of my lungs along with Michelle Shocked at the foot of Capitol Hill.

It was about four in the morning, I ran a red light and we ended up walking the rest of the way home.

Keep on a-rockin'.

2000-10-04, afternoon comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.