. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Cookies and stuff

My search for Girl Scout Cookies has reached the ridiculous. I've been prowling around my neighborhood looking for the tables of scouts with their wares. They can generally be found down at Eastern Market, but this year I have come up empty handed and utterly cookieless.

So sad. What is springtime without Thin Mints, Do-Si-Dos, and Samoas? I find it ironic that the first year I could eat as many girl scout cookies as I want, there are none to be had in my world..

So, yesterday I went for a ride in Rob's spiffy new car. I can't say that I've ever been more pleased by a car's interior. Swoon. The attention to detail in the Audi TT is incredible. Everything that went into that little vehicle was designed in matte finished materials accented by brushed metal. As I've said before, the TT is the Ghia to the VW Neubeetle... only it's better.

If I were a better driver, I'd want one. I think I'd get the roadster in the Nimbus, a pearlized battleship gray with a gray interior. However, my driving skills are not up to the TT; and although it makes me sad, it is nonetheless fact.

We went to Total Beverage out in Alexandria. Rob bought a wide variety of imported beers; I bought $11 worth of designer cream soda. Afterward Rob made me some espresso and tried to talk me out of going back to school.

It's good to have a person to provide counterpoint, and in my life Rob has been that person for some time. He pointed out that I'd either sacrifice sleep for seven years, or I'd have to go back to actually living like a student. No more designer cream soda, no more $18 lipsticks. Look, there goes my convertible. Somebody else is driving it. I knew this in the back of my head, but I probably needed to have another person voice my doubts.

Everyone agrees that my reasons for wanting to be a vet are sound. On the other hand, I have existing obligations that won't wait for me to finish my studies. Maybe there's a way to make those balance. I keep telling myself that if I really wanted, I could find a way to make them balance; on the other hand, gravity always wins.

So we'll see.

2001-03-18, noonish comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.