. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

another gray day

I have managed not to write about my own health for a while. This was a fairly significant goal, so congratulate me... I guess.

I feel OK. No better than OK, but OK is better than lousy. On the other hand, I suspect that I may be headed for another turn south. It is entirely possible my suspicion is based in fear. Isn't that the case with most suspicions? Of course, the fear didn't surface until the abdominal pains started last weekend. (In my world "abdominal pain" means directly over one of my transplanted organs.) I reported them, but Dr. Aladjani said I was asymptomatic on Wednesday.

He's the one member of the team whom I don't really like. I don't feel that he listens to me, though I'm sure it's not just me, I probably wouldn't think he listened to anybody. I'm afraid he suffers in comparison to Drs. Jonsson and Kelly, both of whom respond directly to my concerns.

In any case, they keep on calling me back in once a week, as if I were two weeks out of my first surgery. It's been four months since the first, six weeks since the second.

In any case, I think it's time for me to get out there and finish loading up the car with stuff that's thrift-store bound, then I might stop at Target, but this minute I can't think of what I wanted from Target.

That happens because of the headaches, which happen because of low blood pressure, which happens because of lingering dehydration and some weirdness in my blood vessels. Dr. J. explained it to me once, and I understood the condition then, but I don't remember well enough to explain it to you. All I know is that I have meds to raise and lower my blood pressure, and that this isn't as weird as it sounds to me.

On the other hand, the headache will fix itself if I lay down, which is what I'm going to do before I pass out.

2001-02-16, noonish comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.