. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Champagne Supernova

I think that if I were going to a prom this year, which I'm not, there would be exactly one must-have cosmetic item for me: Urban Decay SWF lip gunk. It's pale pink shimmer shot with glitter, and it rocks. I wear it, and it makes me wish I were going to a prom.

I don't even know what prom dresses look like any more. I assume they're just as awful as bridesmaids dresses, but several years have passed since I wore one of those, either.

For my senior prom, far too many years ago, I designed and made my own dress. It was interesting, white satin with gray-blue velvet and chiffon. I don't think it was very flattering, as I remember it; and I think I missed out on the fun of shopping for a prom dress.

Prom wasn't a very big deal at my school. Three girls showed up in identical dresses and I think I'm the only one who noticed. Still, we had fun, and eventually I learned to enjoy trying on silly dresses decked with tulle and sequins. My dress had nary a sequin in sight, but it did have a corset. On the other hand, gray-blue isn't the most prom-like color, but I don't think I was bold enough at 17 to wear a pink corset.

I'm probably deluding myself that a regular prom at a regular school would have been more fun. I mean, what they say these days is that those proms are all bad music, spiked punch and date rape.

After the dance was over, a bunch of us went bowling. So, if I said I'd bowled while wearing a corset, that would be true.

One other note from high school. Today I was reading a piece about the rules of girl friendship atmarychen.com and the section about fragrances bothered me a little bit. It reads: A girl can declare a perfume her own if she started wearing it first. Don't you think that's true? When we were in high school and college, my best friend would "adopt" whatever fragrance I was wearing at the time. It made me so mad. I lost Chanel's Coco to her, although I still think it suited me better. I had dyed black hair and a closet full of cool vintage dresses; I wore hats regularly and had never been to California. She shopped at Limited Express.

2001-04-05, Afternoon comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.