. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Giant Yawn

Who knew that nothing could be so exhausting?

So far, the difference between being at home and being at work is that there's TV at home. Oh, and there are cats; and a bed, don't forget the bed. At work, there's the 'net, and that's really about it. Here, there are fairly annoying co-workers and a lot of users wanting to deal with a product I don't care about.

My manager said when I came in this morning that I was just to sit in a chair. Great! I'm a professional chair warmer.

To kill time, I bought some stuff from Lands' End. A black rayon suit and the short beige coat I've had my eye on for months. It was on sale, too. I guess it's mid-thigh length, it's got a mid-60s look about it. Not the kitschy 60s, though. Seems like a lot of the American classics date back to the mid-60s. Does that make me an American classic?

I glanced at myself a few minutes ago, and I saw something I'd never seen before: one of those horrible New Media Hipsters. It's the hair and the glasses. See, in this all-black outfit my hair looks especially red. Today it looks deliberately messy. The glasses can't help themselves, and my au courant earrings just add to the mix. Not t mention the pallor.

One of my colleagues told me that he's jumping contracts in two weeks, my direct manager and yet another colleague are also looking to jump contracts. If they go, it will get very lonely here for me.

I had planned on staying around for a while because the work isn't difficult at all; on second thought, it may make sense for me to bolt right after the first of the year. There's a new senior manager, and she's never been a senior manager before. Therefore she's afraid to do anything, which seems to be the fastest road to job security around here.

2000-10-02, afternoon comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.