. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Fiscal responsibility. Sort of.

I'd have to say that most of the reason I haven't been updating as regularly is that I am trying hard not to spend so much time sitting down. This is a frustrating task given my four-hour activity limit, but I do try. I've been walking and stretching, and even though I can't necessarily walk as far as I want to, I try to do it twice a day to double the benefit I get from my lame-ish efforts.

I've been thinking I should buy myself gifts to keep me motivated in my quest to build up my strength. Unfortunately, the only gifts I can think of are kitchen gadgets and jewelry. (OK, there are some techno gadgets I wouldn't mind, such as a new digital camera and a new DVD player, possibly a new cell phone; these things would replace existing things I already have--hence the word "new"--so I don't think they really count as gifts.)

I can see the kitchen gadgets as somewhat practical. Knives, a stand mixer, a restaurant stove. (That screaming in the distance is the sound of my bank account choking at the idea of a restaurant stove.) I guess I could be really, truly practical and finally settle on a silver pattern. Each time I thought I deserved a reward I could get a new place setting.

That's so boring!

Have I honestly reached the plateau at which I don't really want anything? How can that be? I do want things, but none of the things I want seem very important. (Except the knives, those seem important.)

~~~~~

This entry brought to you by cooking.com, which is currently having a sale, which brings the high prices of some good kitchen stuff down slightly from the gulp level. Koog did not buy anything, though she wanted to. She confesses that she did not buy kitchen gadgets because she bought earrings, a bracelet and a necklace in the last week.

2001-03-04, midnightish comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.