. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Cleanliness is next to...

do on the list. Really. Seriously. Right after I use the force of my will to get my mom back to a right-thinking state. (And by that, I mean that she needs to run her own life. I decided today that if I treat her as a capable person, maybe she'll function. You know? It occurs to me that most of the people in her personal life treat her like a child. I think that's because she'd rather watch TV than take responsibility for her life, but that's just a theory.)

If I were working in my own interest here, I'd tell her to stay at Fred's, have her junk put in storage and find roommates I actually like for the spare bedrooms here. But no, I'm trying to get her to move back and, you know, deal with the house she bought. I shouldn't be in a position to make all the decisions.

~~~~~

This is not the time for my rant on how hospitals deal with the elderly, but that time will come soon. I have a bone to pick with the American health-care system about a situation that's not going to get any better any time soon, but it would make me very angry to write it out now. I don't need to be very angry, so I'll just save the sentiment.

Isn't that smart of me?

~~~~~

Now, in happier news, I bought a twinset today; it's pink. Not that hateful medium bright crayon pink that seems to be everywhere, the color of mine is Pearl Pink, and I'm hoping it will be nice. It should be here from Lands End by the end of the week. Fedward will be snorting right about now, because he thinks I buy all my clothes from Lands End. This is not true, but their fine gague cotton sweaters look exceptionally cute on me, so I'm partial to them. I'm more partial to the ones I find at thrift stores for next-to-nothing, but I'll pay full price if I have to.

This, leads to Koog's First Rule of Thrifting: If you wouldn't at least want the item at its full price, you should leave it at the thrift store. This rule applies to hard-core thrifters and pack rats of every variety. The rest of you can go about your business, but I have to finish getting things together to take (back) to the thrift store.

2001-04-10, Evening comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.