. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

The first day of the rest of my life

She got here at 10:45 and we started working; the organizer, that is. They made me sit down for most of the time, which was good. My back started to give out about 2, but in the intervening time we extracted 22 large trash bags full of stuff from the basement, plus loaded up the Saturn with stuff to go (back) to the thrift store. There's a bunch of stuff that's marked to go on ebay as well.

This is just the basement, people. Now you have some idea what kind of battle we're fighting. Jill is insane, by the way. She made some remark about mildew being a "gift from God" because it helps you throw things away.

Boggle.

I keep reminding myself that she's not a normal kind of person; the only time I wanted to slap her was when I was trying to move a chair and she wouldn't get out of my way because she couldn't figure out which way I wanted to go. There was only one way to go, though, and by that time I was getting tired. She's scheduled to come back Tuesday at 10:30, so we'll keep working on our own over the weekend.

Highlights included finding my favorite sweater at the bottom of a pile of things that was supposed to have been dry cleaned back when I lived at the House of Snark. I've been looking for that sweater for years, and I literally hugged it when I pulled it out of the bag. It's a J Crew wool rollneck in a dark, rich orange color called Sienna.

I'm sure it's too big now, as it was always too big before, but it will be especially too big now. That's OK. I don't love the sweater any less, I'm just not going to buy any additional sweaters that will make me look huge.

Speaking of things that make me look huge, I got my new jammies in today's mail! Apparently Lands' End held my order because the slippers I wanted were back ordered a few days. That's weird, since I specified a second choice color; I would have been just as happy with the charcoal as the dark green. On the other hand, the green will go with my favorite flannel nightgown.

The new jammies, like the new slippers, are fleece. I'm clothed in wonderfully soft purple Polartec, and I couldn't be happier about that. There's just not very much that's nicer to have next to your skin. I can safely say that the very first time I put on something made of Polartec, I fell in love. Fleece makes my skin happy; happy skin is a beautiful thing. I mean, it's hard to be anything but calm and peaceful when your skin feels so good.

Oh. I must make a note to self now, that when I order things from Lands' End, I need to order size M, not size L. Things I order in L are baggy and unattractive, whereas M fits comfortably. The jammies are L, but their bagginess is cute, because they're jammies. I did that on purpose.

2000-11-09, afternoon comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.