. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

mmm. figgy.

D'oh.

I spent all day waiting for somebody to show up with a delivery that's supposed to happen tomorrow. I hate when I forget how many days are in a month.

Anyway, it looks to me as though August will be our hellish month weatherwise. Yesterday's humidity was oppressive even though the actual temperature didn't break 90. Although I've lived here for 10 years, I still feel like a weenie for thinking it's hot when the thermometer is below 90.

Went thrifting yesterday. No phenomenal scores, but I found a couple of good sweaters and a bias-cut burn-out velvet skirt that will look nice if I ever go out again. One of the sweaters is sort of Norwegian looking and genuinely goony, but I like it. Stopped at Target on the way home, bought three cap-sleeved tees and a surprisingly cute skirt.

Oh, and some room spray. The term "room spray" has always amused me, it's so self-descriptive that it can only do what it promises.

"What's that"
"Room Spray."
"What do you do with it?"
"You spray it around a room."

No promises there. Nope.

This particular room spray is called Fresh Towels and it does sort of evoke dryer sheets, though it's nothing like opening a linen closet. Now that is a wonderful smell: cool, clean, dark, hidden. What is it about folded sheets that smell so wonderful?

I remember that my mom used to dry our sheets on an actual clothesline when I was small. Those were the days...

Oh. Oh! It's almost fig time. I love fresh figs. One of my neighbors has a tree in his yard and I'm going to ask if I can have some. I must decide how I want to eat the figs I manage to scare up; I mean, I'll buy them if I have to. Last year I bought a bunch of figs and a tub of mascarpone and went to town. I think creme fraiche might be a better fit, but you never know. Maybe I'll have to try both for a head to head comparison.

Do not miss fresh figs. They are one of the wonders of the world.

2000-07-31, 17:49:48 comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.