. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Naughty Feather

I have come back.

Had a good time in New York. Didn't log on once. I walked in the rain and got to watch a person who had never been in NYC before, that was interesting. I kept thinking she was going to get left on the subway because she wouldn't get up until the train had stopped, but I'm happy to say my fears were groundless.

I just wouldn't be me without something to worry about.

True to the song, I got about six hours sleep in the two days I was there. No good reason, except that the hotel bed was too soft.

I'll write more about the trip later, but I think the best thing about it was realizing that I am capable of more than I think I am. I experienced moments when I truly felt that anything was possible. I admitted to myself that I have moments when I get, well, scared, but I decided that's OK.

Oh, plus, if you like makeup, get thee to the nearest Sephora. I, um, had a blast at the one at Times Square. My favorite thing is that they had a lot of their private label stuff in smallish packages where appropriate. As an example, they have small tubes of mascara in a rainbow of colors plus all the normal ones at the reasonable price of $5 each. I bought the burgundy, and the product is very nice. I like it quite a bit.

I also bought the Shu Uemura eyelash curler I've always wanted, so last night my eyelashes were noticible. It was fun, and they still looked good after walking home from the subway in the rain.

I wanted to get something new and different, but I think I stuck to the usual, although I found some good stuff. I expect to use the Shu Uemura Luminizer in Pink Pearl fairly regularly. It's subtle, but gives you... something. When I put it on, I felt pretty again; I liked that.

Got a couple of Rocket Girl lipsticks because I love the packaging. Earth is a reddish brown with a smooth, natural texture; Galaxy is a cool pale purply pink shimmer that wears exceptionally well. The lipstick cases are brushed aluminum and rocket inspired.

The other fun thing is a creme eyeshadow called Naughty Feather from Benefit. Say that with me: Naughty Feather. You're smiling, too. I can tell.

The thing about makeup is that it can give you the opportunity to make a canvas of yourself. Sometimes I feel that wearing makeup gives me an advantage because I get to choose how I present myself to the world. I don't believe that women have to wear makeup, and frankly I think a lot of the most beautiful women in the world don't wear any at all. I like it, though.

2000-07-27, 19:24:40 comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.