. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

Fashion Rant

Things I want:

Today it occurred to me that I had better start shopping for some cute black shoes. You see, all my cute shoes are brown, and I just don't have enough brown clothes. What I really, truly want are some nice light taupe shoes that will go with my mostly concrete colored wardrobe, but so far I haven't found anything less than dreadful.

It took me a long time to embrace my love of greige. I don't pretend that it's extremely flattering, but I'll be damned if it doesn't all go together. So much easier to match than blacks.

I read somewhere that black is going to be the new black. I have been waiting for this to happen for a couple of years now, just so I could laugh. Listen up fashion wags, black never goes away; nor does taupe, ivory, white, charcoal, navy or bright red.

The colors that look best on me do go away from time to time, but I can generally find some shade of green that works. Now, where was I?

Oh yes, things I want. I'm going to New York next week, and I may venture down to Soho to go to Sephora. Now, there's a Sephora here in Georgetown, but I never go to Georgetown. I think this means that I'm finally going to clean out my makeup case and ditch things that are old, no matter how much I paid for them originally.

You see, the problem with being a makeup loving person is that you never actually finish anything. For instance, I bought nail polish the other day. I really like all three colors, but I guarantee I won't finish the bottles because my nails are almost never painted.

As much as I enjoy makeup, I don't put it on every day. I'm so proud of myself because I've hit metal on all three eyeshadow colors and all three lipsticks in the Nars kit I bought two years ago. You're not supposed to keep eyeshadow around that long.

Anyway... anyway... I might go hunting for some Fluevogs tomorrow. If they're too chunky looking, which they might be, I'll see what Marvin K. has served up for the end of the season. No matter what, my toenails are still painted a lovely metallic coral that deserves to be admired.

What I want is to get myself out of the fashion rut that comes with not having to go to work every day. Is that so wrong?

2000-07-22, 21:18:14 comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.