. Ham on Wry .
. . .
. . . . .

*sigh*

Having worked for a non-profit, having put in a ton of unpaid overtime, I know that I prefer to give my time to worthy causes, not my money. Why? Pretty easy to answer that one, the organization I worked for, which is a well-respected global group with worthy goals, gave the biggest line in its budget to direct mail.

I didn't think that was cool, at all. That's not a generational issue, it's reality. I know that non-profits have to cover their overhead expenses just like other businesses, but it bothers me when propagating junk mail costs so much more than program work and daily operating expenses combined. I have given money to local environmental organizations in the past couple of years, because the program work directly affects where I live.

For the record, before I got sick, I volunteered several hours each week at the Humane Society, because I love animals. I used to participate in neighborhood cleanup days and have walked with the orange hat patrol, as cheesy as it is. I've been known to do pro-bono work for organizations whose web sites that need help, or to help out an acquaintance who's trying to start a small business. I have a friend (who will remain nameless) who plays Santa every year; he buys Christmas gifts to take to kids whose parents have terminal cancer because it's the right thing to do.

We give back, but we don't talk about it all that much. In general, I don't think people who donate to charities are looking for a pat on the back. I think Boomers are pretty much always good for a donation, but I think in most cases you'll find that the bottom line has them spending more on consumer goods than charitable contributions.

We spend a lot, some of us spend more than we should, and no, we're not always the most responsible people in the world... but we never claimed to be. There's your difference. We work hard and some of us earn huge salaries. I think if you did a little research you'd find that the ones with the really huge salaries have formed foundations and given a lot of their money away. What else are you going to do with it?

Anyway, I have a stomach ache now. I didn't mean to offend anybody, honest. Marn, I think it's a wonderful thing that you give as much or more than you spend. That rocks, and I wish there were more like you in the world. Even if your definition of giving turns out to be not financial, but wrought in terms of caring about others and the world in general.

Squib, I was thinking of "Crocodile Rock" when I mentioned Elton John. I just couldn't help myself. I'm sure all the artists I mentioned had something worthwhile in their respective oeuvres, even Grand Funk Railroad.

2001-01-24, afternoon comments (0)

before - after

.
. .
.